Burke-Carr Awards Party by Open Government Institute of Colorado

Event Details

Burke-Carr Awards Party by Open Government Institute of Colorado

Time: May 22, 2012 from 5:30pm to 7:30pm
Location: Colorado Automobile Dealers Association
Street: 290 East Speer Boulevard
City/Town: Denver, Colorado
Website or Map: http://www.ogicolorado.org
Event Type: awards party
Organized By: W. Branstetter
Latest Activity: May 23, 2012

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description


The public is winning!

To celebrate please Join the Open Government Institute as we honor the 2012 Burke-Carr Award Winners for all their amazing contributions in helping transparency win. The winners, as well as the finalists, will be toasted at an awards ceremony on ...Tuesday, May 22, 2012, from 5:30 p.m. until 7:30 p.m. at the Colorado Automobile Dealers Association, 290 East Speer Boulevard, Denver


Join us for food and drinks to celebrate Colorado's finest activists.



Elected Officials- Libby Szabo.  Finalists included Scott Gessler, B.J. Nikkel, Pat Steadman and Angela Williams New Media- Colorado Peak Politics. Finalists included Complete Colorado, People's Press Collective, Kelly Maher and Amy Oliver

Journalist- Lynn Bartels.  Finalists included Sara Burnett, Michael Roberts, Brian Maass, and Eli Stokols. Grassroots Activism- Regan Benson.  Finalists included Natalie Menten, Karin Piper, Don Pippen, and Civil Rights law firm Kilmer, Lane, and Newman.


RSVP required, please send to Shawn Coleman at Shawn@OGIColorado.org.

For more information on the Burke-Carr award please visit: http://tinyurl.com/6slxfxg

For more information on the Open Government Insitute please visit: www.ogicolorado.org  

Comment Wall


RSVP for Burke-Carr Awards Party by Open Government Institute of Colorado to add comments!

Join Arapahoe Tea Party

Comment by W. Branstetter on May 23, 2012 at 12:51pm

Jessica Peck with the OGI commented that the group might be interested in working with some of the grassroots groups who may have interests in local government issues for the surrounding metro area governments.  Lynn Bartels (Denver Post) commented on the changes in coverage that the news media can accomplish for the metro area over the last 20 years.  Activists and the grassroots organizations are very important to ensuring that governments remain open and accountable to the citizens. 


Kelly Maher accepted the award on behalf of Colorado Peak Politics.  The author(s) behind this commentary source remains anonymous. 


Regan Benson thanked the mentors and assured that she would remain involved in holding school districts (such as Jefferson County) accountable. 


Rep. Libby Szabo accepted her award and promised to continue her efforts in the legislature.


Tyler Hart, president of the current class of Leadership Program of the Rockies, expressed interest in what Randy Corporon is doing with Arapahoe County Tea Party. 


There were a lot of competing events so the turnout may have been smaller than expected.


Comment by W. Branstetter on May 20, 2012 at 6:49pm

The Facebook announcement is at: 





Attending (1)

Not Attending (1)

© 2024   Created by Chairman's Committee.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service